The lost habitat of Burnt Tree Island

The following was written as a viewpoint for the local newspaper: Newsquest (Midlands South) Ltd, 12/1/2012, and was published in a necessarily less academic character than any peer reviewed research would need to be. This short opinion pertains to a busy road junction changing from a roundabout to traffic lights, not obviously a target for eco-critical analysis one might think. However, urban environmental planning issues surrounding road infrastructure are usually framed from a perspective of the quantitative.  Consequently such issues are typically approached independently of the human context, leading to the condition of (the) environment being treated as separate and objective.

In the view of this I propose that a mode of dialogue must be produced, engendering a communicative action, that has the potential to link a variety of participants from Art, Philosophy and Science to further knowledge of the part human cultural engagement with environment can play in resolving environmental issues. There is a potential here for the significance of human interaction with place and the cultural significance of nature to be weighed on the scales of a revised outlook that may provide a challenge to accepted contexts of power, politics and ultimately how we construct and express notions of ‘the environment’ in the future. My argument is that if we are to usefully raise awareness of environmental issues and in particular human cultural engagement with place, we must first re-negotiate the prevalent dialectic of nature-as-self versus nature-as-object to answer the developers’ perennial question: “what good is it?” when defending the ethical rights of the planet. In my view we are a force of nature and any worthwhile ecology must include us without being essentially anthropocentric; but I don’t go as far as some the opponents of a ‘scientific’ view who argue the right of the planet over the interests of humanity.

The lost Habitat of Burnt Tree Island 

Burnt Tree Island, Shell Corner, The Lost City, The Black Country – these adopted place names seem redolent of the luminous coast of some exotic land, full with intrigue and mystery. Simultaneously ugly and beautiful, these informal names and the places to which they refer belong to us and our Black Country Lexicon, – often as buoyant surrogates. As in the Dudley borough and especially in the more populated and industrial parts, we become only too aware of our landlocked situation. We become more firmly attached through the time we spend traversing and circulating and to my mind our shared locale maintains all the allure of the distant cities and pleasure spots. (Londoners will finally recognise this!) That these curiously named places exist and are communicated through a shared commonality, itself tinged with a romance and eloquence one would find any-place the inhabitants have a fondness for, must bear testimony to the wryly optimistic Black Country sense of humour.

Now that the work is done, and Burnt Tree has lost its island status, have we lost something as well? Certainly The Tracy family have found a new thunderbird hangar in the re-muddled ‘Gateway’ Tesco superstore but the rest of us now stare blankly into the void of the ‘interchange’ in the agonising between of the lights, like serfs paying tribute to some surly tyrant, who might just live in that castle…intermittently…obediently, every so often if you’re not quick enough to make it across in time.

burnt tree island

The beauty of a traffic ‘island’ is in its simplicity: it has only one rule – give way to traffic from the right, and every transaction that follows is one of negotiation between drivers and environment, sometimes skilfully done, sometimes not-so-skilful, but mostly performed with an implicit understanding of speed and distance, similar to an ice rink where a complex, dance-like, social contract is measured out. In short a site where a bargain between people meets at the junction of place. At Burnt Tree the move to traffic lights has brought with it a change of ideology: The delicate play of exchange between people, even in cars, becomes a standard of humanity but the humanity has now been removed from our exchanges and the freedom of choice from our negotiations. Does that change benefit our shared culture and its ties to place?

Burntree 11 JAH 21

Burnt Tree Junction is a site now emptied of humanity, free from choice. The planners and our representatives, in their infinite wisdom have traded our freedom away, lessened the trust placed in our hands and replaced our ability to think for ourselves with a set of rules set down by machines – and I thought it was us, famously, who were in charge of those. If we are serious about a Dudley City epitomising our culture and identity, surely we should look at ways of strengthening relationships between each other and landscape, and celebrating the way our funny vernacular is linked to this place. We have the opportunity to be urbane and not simply urban.

©Philip Potter 2012

References

Newsquest (Midlands South) Ltd, 12/1/2012, retitled by the editor: ‘Rise of the machines robs us of our history’

Copyright Express and Star, Picture 2 by Jonathan Hipkiss
21/07/2011…..Sandwell
Road works have finished at the Burnt Tree Island to turn it into a traffic light junction… View from the Dudley side of the junction

14 comments

  1. Reblogged this on radicalhorizon and commented:

    A letter to the editor of News Group a while ago which was published in ‘The Stourbridge News’ January 2012

  2. It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you shared this
    useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. I have been surfing online greater than three hours these days, but I never discovered any fascinating
    article like yours. It’s lovely worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet might be much more helpful than ever before.

  4. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own site now 😉

  5. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever
    a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same
    comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  6. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to
    give a contribution & assist different customers like its helped me.
    Great job.

  7. It’s going to be finish of mine day, except before end I am reading this great paragraph to improve my experience.

  8. Thanks for sharing such a nice thinking, post is pleasant, thats why i have read it fully

  9. I pay a visit day-to-day some websites and sites to read posts, but this web site offers feature based
    posts.

  10. Hey terrific website! Does running a blog such as
    this require a large amount of work? I’ve no understanding of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I simply wanted to ask. Thanks!

  11. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something
    concerning this.

  12. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and
    amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

  13. I am really grateful to the owner of this web page who has shared this impressive piece of writing at at this place.

  14. This website definitely has all of the information and facts I
    wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

